Who’s who


The RFS trustees are members of the Management Committee.

President: Sir Jack Whitaker
Vice-President: Dr Sophie Churchill OBE
Chairman: Ian Dudley
Treasurer: Paul Whittle
Immediate Past-President: Nicholas Halsey
Andrew Woods
Ben Herbert
Rod Leslie
Ron Shapland
Trefor Thompson


The RFS Council’s role is to nominate members of Management Committee for election at the AGM, appoint other members of the Management Committee and Council, and provide advice and support to the Management Committee. Council members comprise the Management Committee, Past Presidents, elected representatives from each of the RFS 20 Divisions and co-opted members. Current Council members and Past Presidents are listed in the two documents that can be downloaded by following the links below.


Each of our 20 Divisions has an elected Honorary Secretary who is a key player in organising local events such as outdoor meetings. Each Division has a Chairperson and a local Committee.

Staff and contractors

Simon Lloyd, Director of Development simon.lloyd@rfs.org.uk

Karen Jones, Office Administrator karen.jones@rfs.org.uk

Dawn Dewhurst, Assistant Office Administrator dawn.dewhurst@rfs.org.uk

Phil Tanner, Education Manager education@rfs.org.uk

Membership Department (t: 01594 250140; membership@rfs.org.uk)

Wendy Necar, Communications Officer: communications@rfs.org.uk

Lesley Trotter, Editor, Quarterly Journal of Forestry, qjf@rfs.org.uk

Dr John Jackson, Editor, RFS E-news: condorito7549@hotmail.com

Melanie Thompson, Web Editor: rfshq@rfs.org.uk


Registered Office

The Hay Barns
Home Farm Drive
Upton Estate
OX15 6HU

Tel: 01295 678588
Fax: 01295 670798
Email: rfshq@rfs.org.uk

We are a Registered Charity (No. 306093) and also a charitable company limited by guarantee incorporated in England & Wales (No. 5306975). Our VAT registration number is 697 9058 62.

Normal office hours are 9am to 5pm, Monday to Friday.

Attachment(click to download)Size
RFS_Council_Reps_2014_181213.pdfRFS_Council_Reps_2014_181213.pdf40.38 KB
RFS_Past_Presidents_2014_181213.pdfRFS_Past_Presidents_2014_181213.pdf11.12 KB
Memorandum-and-Articles-of-Association.pdfMemorandum-and-Articles-of-Association.pdf89.11 KB