Print page print this page

Excellence in Forestry


 Eif Banner


Eif2018winnerssponsorsjudges Westonbirt Crfsbrianmartin
The 2018 Excellence in Forestry Awards were presented at Westonbirt, the National Arboretum


The RFS Excllence in Forestry Awards are the premier competition for England, Wales and Northern Ireland, celebrating all that is best in woodland management across four different categories and recognising the very best in woodland and forestry Education and Learning projects.

The Excellence in Forestry Awards 2018 were presented at the Great Oak Hall at the National Arboretum, Westonbirt,  by kind permission of Forestry Commission England on 13 July 2018. Full details are available here.

In 2019 the awards will be held across the South of England incorporating the areas covered by RFS Home Counties, Oxon and Bucks, Southern, London and Middlesex and South Eastern Divisions. They will be open to members and non members. More details will be available shortly. 

Over the years, the RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards have revealed some outstanding woods and  woodland management. To share Best Practice, case studies on some of the previous winners are available here.  

For more information please email Dr Rachel Thomas, Excellence in Forestry Coordinator at  or call us on 01295 678588


The RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards were launched in 2009 as the successor to two former national forestry competitions - the Woodlands and Plantations competition run in partnership with the Royal Agricultural Society of England, and the Duke of Cornwall's Award for Forestry and Conservation.

They rotate around England, Wales and Northern Ireland.