Print page print this page


RFS Honours Class of 2014
 Share this article on

More than 30 students - some just starting out in forestry, others well established, and a few changing careers - received awards from the RFS and its Divisions during 2014.

RFS Education Manager Phil Tanner said: "Through the support of our 20 Divisions, we have been able to provide a range of excellent learning opportunities, sharing knowledge across a variety of different forestry sites.

Christopherrobertslucymason Awards 181214 Wn

Christopher Roberts, winner of the George Clive Award, and Silky Fox Handsaw Award winner Lucy Mason with David Davenport  

" We have worked with a range of landbased colleges to increase awareness of the opportunities within the forestry and woodland management sector. 

"Our thanks once again to Silky Fox Handsaws, to Lockhart Garratt and to the Divisions for supporting local colleges with awards that recognise the achievements of future foresters in memory of some extraordinary foresters of their day."

Awards have gone to: 

  • Alistair Falconer Hall,  graduate surveyor with Fisher German in Banbury, won the RFS Morley Penistan Award presented by the RFS Gloucestershire Division.
  • Peter Mills won the RFS Shield presented by the RFS North Wales Division.
  • Claire Nash, founder of St Albans-based The Tree Bureau consultancy, was presented with the Royal Forestry Society/Lockhart Garratt Award. 
  • StudentTim Peters won the 2014 RFS Bangor Bursary presented by the RFS North Wales Division.
  • Stuart Pudney, Conservation and Land Manager (North) for Northumberland Water, won the Alec Pyman Award presented by the RFS North Western Division.
  • Jack Regan won the RFS Shield presented by the RFS North Wales Division.  
  • Christopher Roberts won the RFS George Clive Memorial Prize presented by the RFS Herefordshire Division.
  • Andy Rowlands has won the RFS Prees Heath Award presented annually to a student from Harper Adams University

Twenty four students studying Level 2 and Level 3 courses at universities and colleges up and down the country received RFS Silky Fox Handsaw Awards. They were 

Joseph Clarke  Reaseheath College, Cheshire 
Tom Compton   Moulton College, Northampton
Joshua Dixon  East Durham College, Houghall Campus, Durham
Ross Emery  Coleg Gwent, Usk Campus, Monmouthshire 
Michael Garrett   Coleg Cambria, Coleg Llysfasi Campus, Flintshire
Tom Gissing Riseholme College (part of Bishop Burton), Lincoln 
Robert Hamilton   Plumpton College, Sussex
Jake Hendre  Eastern & Otley College, Suffolk
 Jack Hockley   Capel Manor College, Enfield
 Ben Hunt   Abingdon & Witney College, Oxfordshire 
 Ben Ingham  Askham Bryan College, Newton Rigg Campus, Yorkshire
Dr Sharon Johnson  Northumberland College, Kirkley Hall, Northumberland
 Alexander Lynam  Myerscough College, Preston
 Lucy Mason    Hereford and Ludlow College, Holme Lacy Campus, Hereford
Jamie Phillips  Sparsholt College, Hampshire
Douglas Porter     Derby College, Broomfield Hall Campus, Derbyshire
George Ridgewell  Hadlow College, Kent
Conrad Robinson    Bicton College, Devon
Gethin Rowlands   Coleg Meirion Dwyfor, Glynllifon campus, Dolgellau
Andrew Senior
 Scottish Rural Universities Colleges, Dumfries and Galloway
Ryan Shaw    Warwickshire College, Pershore Campus, Worcestershire
Jacob Sheridan     Duchy College, Stoke Climsland Campus, Cornwall
Steven Spivey  Askham Bryan College, Yorkshire
 George Tucker              College, Cannington Centre for Landbased Studies, Somerset

 More details are available on our Awards pages.