Print page print this page


New look Excellence in Forestry Awards head north
 Share this article on

The RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards are returning to the North of England for 2016 with updated categories reflecting contemporary challenges faced by woodlands large and small.

There will also be a new Education and Learning Award for forestry education, training and career development. The Awards will rotate across the country over the next five years, starting in the north of England.

As the 2016 awards open for entries, RFS Chief Executive Simon Lloyd says: "We have revised the

Simon Lloyd Expertvoices 181114 Wn
Simon Lloyd: Awards focus on responses to today's complex challenges faced by woodland owners and managers

awards to focus on the responses of woodland owners and managers to today's complex challenges posed by pests, diseases, climate change and other environmental impacts.

"Our Duke of Cornwall Award now places a strong emphasis on resilience planning.The Silviculture Award focuses on compartments that have been restocked or created in the past 30 years while the importance of bringing woods back into management is recognised in a new Small and Farm Woodlands Award. Our new Urban and Community Award reflects a growing recognition of the value of trees to people in urban environments and our Education and Learning Award has been expanded.

" We welcome aboard new sponsors, Egger Forest Management and Tilhill Forestry, and thank John Clegg and Co, Tubex and PEFC for their continued support."

For 2016, the  awards are being held in an area of northern England covered by the RFS North Eastern, North Western [excluding the Isle of Man], and Yorkshire Divisions. This includes

  • The Non-Metropolitan Counties of Cumbria, Lancashire and North Yorkshire.
  • The Metropolitan Counties of Merseyside, Greater Manchester, West Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, and Tyne and Wear
  • The Unitary Authorities of Northumberland, County Durham, Darlington, Hartlepool, Stockton-on-Tees, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, Blackpool, Blackburn with Darwen, York, East Riding of Yorkshire and City of Kingston upon Hull

Full details of the awards and how to enter can be found at here.The deadline for entries is Tuesday 8 March 2016  and an awards event for all winners will be held in July 2016.

Eifgroup1 280715 Wnweb
2015 Excellence in Forestry Award winners