Print page print this page


Exceptional Excellence - our 2016 EiF award winners
 Share this article on

The winners have been announced for all five hotly contested categories in the RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards 2016.The awards were held across the north of England and the exceptional standard of entries proved a challenge for the judges whose praise included ...  

" we were impressed by the intimate species mixtures, uneven-aged structures and low impact silviculture which spread economic risks, create diverse habitats and provide an attractive backdrop to recreational and educational activities on the estate," of the RFS Duke of Cornwall award for Resilient Woodlands Gold Award winner, Helmsley Estate, north Yorkshire.

"'most effective and impressive voluntary organisations we have ever encountered," about Urban and Community Award Gold winners Churwell Environmental volunteers in Leeds.

Winners are listed below. More details on each category winner can be found here 

Docgold Timtollisgrahamheath Helmlesy Wood 0306 Drowendavies
Silvicuture Gold Zetland Shaun Purkiss 0306 Drowendavies
Smallandfarmgold Garyprimrose 0206 C Drowendavies
Eif2016 Urbangold Trefor Thompson Janetharrison And Dilyshetherington Credit Les Starling Lr
Eif2016 Edlearning Gold Bhmt148 Tedwilson Lr

Excellence in Forestry 2016 Gold


Pictures: Les Starling,Owen Davies

Ted Wilson

  • Duke of Cornwall’s Award for Resilient Woods

Sponsored by Egger Forestry and John Clegg & Co

Gold: Helmsley Estate, Duncombe Park, near Helmsley, North Yorkshire, owned by the Rt Hon Jake Barnaby Duncombe.

Silver: Warren and Lalbuss Woods, Ivegil, Cumbria, owned by Orlando Finzi and managed by Egger Forestry

Highly commended: Grimston Wood, near York, owned by Ralph Hoyle.

  • Award for Excellence in Silviculture

Sponsored by Tilhill Forestry and Tubex

Gold: Zetland Estates' Woodland Carbon Code woodland, near Richmond, North Yorkshire, owned by Earl of Ronaldshay.

Silver: Ford and Etal Estates' Ford Westfield Woods, near Wooler, Northumberland, owned by Lord and Lady Joicey.

  • Small and Farm Woodlands Award

Joint RFS/ RASE Award

 Gold: Sawrey Ground Plantation, near Hawskhead, Cumbria, owned by Gary Primrose and Derek Hook.

Silver: Moss Wood, near Hexham, Northumberland, owned by James Ogilvie.

  • Urban and Community Forestry Award 

Gold: Churwell Environmental Volunteers for the Clarksprings and Daffil Woods owned by Leeds City Council.

Silver: Bramhall and Carr Wood, owned by Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council.

  • Education and Learning Award

Sponsored by PEFC

Gold: Bill Hogarth (MBE) Memorial Apprenticeship Trust (BHMAT), based in Carnforth, Lancashire.

Silver: the Full Cycle project, led by Campaign for National Parks in partnership with the Lake District National Park Authority and Woodmatters.

Highly commended: 1st Whittingham BP Scout Group, based at the Whittingham Memorial Institute, Alnwick, Northumberland.


Judges were: Duke of Cornwall, Silviculture and Small and Farm Woodlands Awards: Graham Heath and Dr Owen Davies; Urban and Community Woodlands, Les Startling and Trefor Thompson; Education and Learning, Ted Wilson and Chris Starr OBE

Winners will receive their awards at Lotherton Hall Estate near Leeds on 6 July.

In 2017 the awards move to the East of England (RFS Notts and Lincs, Midlands and East Anglia Division areas).