Print page print this page


Cert Arb RFS introduces new NPTC options
 Share this article on


Forest scenery

Date Issued: 06 May 2011


The RFS Certificate in Arboriculture (Cert Arb RFS), which has set the standard for craftsman-level arborists for more than 40 years, has been updated. The Certificate requires candidates to hold the ABC Certificate in Arboriculture and a suite of National Proficiency Test Certificates (NPTC) to prove the holder has both a sound theoretical and a practical knowledge of arboriculture.

The requirement for the ABC Certificate in Arboriculture remains the same, but the suite of certificates that qualify has now been updated. Compulsory certificates are: Maintain Chainsaw (CS30); Fell and Process Small Trees (CS31)and Brushwood Chipper ( A06)

The candidate must also hold four out of 15 qualifying NPTC tests which range from Planting (A01) to Knapsack Sprayer (PA6a).

RFS Chief Executive, Dr John Jackson, said: “The RFS Cert Arb is the only such qualification requiring both practical and theoretical certification at craftsman level, validating the person holding it with a rounded, long-established and benchmark qualification.

“The changes to the NPTC requirements ensure that the qualification remains relevant and focussed on modern day arboricultural and woodland management challenges. For holders, who can use the Cert Arb RFS after their names, it is visible evidence to employers and customers of their competence.”

Full details of the Cert Arb RFS and how to apply for it are available on