Print page print this page


RFS Excellence in Forestry Award winners gather at Madingley Hall, Cambridge
 Share this article on


RFS Excellence in Forestry Award winners and runners up collect their awards at Madingley Hall, Cambridge

Date Issued: 30 June 2011


A record-breaking entry into the Royal Forestry Society (RFS) Excellence in Forestry Awards 2011 has revealed the very best in woodlands and forestry practices in counties ranging from Derbyshire and north London to East Anglia.

The awards are the country’s premier forestry competition and are held on a seven-year rotation around England, Wales and Northern Ireland. This year they were supported by Forestry Commission England and the National Forest Company.

Presenting the awards at a special event at Madingley Hall in Cambridge, RFS President Anthony Bosanquet said: “We were, of course, confident that Eastern England would more than live up to expectations, and have been delighted by such a strong list of entries. We have witnessed some truly outstanding forestry management, making the very best of natural and human resources.

“One message that comes across clearly is that woodlands, and forestry, are alive and well, and that they play a key part in local economies and the well-being of local communities.”

Winners are:

Duke of Cornwall Multipurpose Forestry Award (sponsored by John Clegg & Co)

  • Winner: Mildenhall Woods, part of the Thetford Forest, Brandon Suffolk, managed by Forestry Commission
  • Runner up: Treswell Wood, Treswell, Nottinghamshire, owned and managed by Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust

RFS Silviculture Award (sponsor:Tubex, additional sponsorship by Fencing and Landscaping News).

  • Joint winners: Fulmodestone Severals and Hindolveston Wood, Hindolveston, Norfolk, owned by the Brun family and Sotterley Estate, Beccles, Suffolk, owned by Sotterley Farms Partnership
  • Runner up: Pierrepont Settlement, Thoresby Estate, Perlethorpe, Nottinghamshire, owned by Trustees of Pierrepont Settlement

Small Woodland Award (sponsor, additional sponsorship Woodmizer).

  • Winner: Rawhaw Wood, Pipewell, near Kettering, Northamptonshire, owned by Hugh Ross and Carolyn Church
  • Runner up: Red Lodge Wood, Tilton-on-the-Hill, Leicestershire, owned by David Duxbury
  • Certificate of Merit: Vera’s Spinney, Needham Hill Farm, Kinoulton, Nottinghamshire, owned by Vera Oxby

Community Forestry Award ( Sponsor PEFC UK)

  • Winner: Hill Holt Wood, Norton Disney, Lincolnshire, owned by Hill Holt Wood
  • Runner up: Hazel and Thoroughsale Woods, Corby, Northamptonshire, owned by Corby Borough Council

A new challenge prize was also introduced this year, the Sylva Trophy, donated by Patrick Evelyn, a direct descendent of John Evelyn, author of the seminal 17th century ‘Sylva or a Discourse of Forest-trees and the Propogation of Timber’. This new trophy will be presented annually to an entry worthy of special recognition in any one of the four categories. This year it was won by Burlingham Woods, in Burlingham, Norfolk, owned by Norfolk Country Council.

In 2012 the competition moves to the south western counties of Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Somerset, Gloucester and Wiltshire. Details will be available this autumn on the RFS web site

For further details on all winners, and the judges’ comments, see the category-specific pages.