Print page print this page


2013 RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards – and the winners are …
 Share this article on

080713 2

Excellence in Forestry Award winners 2013 celebrate at Wythenshaw Park (© Les Starling)

Date Issued: 08 July 2013


The RFS Excellence in Forestry (EiF) Awards 2013 were presented at an Awards Event at Wythenshaw Park, Manchester, on 3 July. The Awards highlighted some exceptional examples of forestry and management of woodlands large and small.

Case studies of award winners can now be downloaded from theRFS website. Scroll down to see the list of winners.

Pictured, right are:

Front row, from left: Stephen Briggs and Sarah Walters, Alvecote Wood (winners Small Woodland); Ian Jack of the Lowther and Lonsdale estate (winner Multipurpose award and runner up Silviculture); Cllr Miles Parkinson, Hyndburn Borough Council, The Woodlands Clayton Le Moors (winners, Community Woodland); Northwood 'Mums' Nicola Drury and Carole Birchall, Northwood Forest Hills and Green Streets (winners Urban Forestry); Mary Jeeves, Chair of Friends of Anderton and Marbury (runners up Community Woodlands); Chris McHugh and Kim Coverdale, Lancashire Wildlife Trust, Hollins Wood, (runners up Urban Forestry); Chris Martin, Forest of Mercia (Sylva Cup) and Bill Evans (winner RFS Silviculture).

Back row, from left: Cllr Eddie O'Connor, Northwood Hills (winner Urban Forestry); Joe Walsh (Manchester City Council forest leader); Jim MacRitchie, Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council, Woodbank Park (runner up Urban Forestry); Mark Pickup, Hyndburn Council, The Woodlands Clayton Le Moors (winners Community Woodland); Clare Olver and Ben Greenaway (Mersey Forest) Northwood Hills and Anderton and Marbury; Chris Mosely, Cheshire West and Cheshire Council (runner up Community Woodlands); Philip Hurst, Knowsley Council (winner Urban Forestry); Cath Holmes (winner, Community Woodlands); Ray Harris, Duchy of Cornwall (runner up RFS Silviculture), Colonel George West, Broxton Wood, (runner up Small Woodlands).




The winners are:


  • Multipurpose Woodlands – the Duke of Cornwall’s Award

Sponsor: John Clegg & Co

1st prize: Center Parcs Whinfell Forest on the Lowther Estate, Cumbria 
entered by Lowther Estate

2nd prize: Aconbury and Wallbrooks Woodlands, part of the Hereford Estate 
entered by the Duchy of Cornwall


  • Silviculture Award

Sponsor: Tubex 

1st prize: Whitbourne Estate, Worcester
entered by Whitbourne Estate

2nd prize: Whinfell Forest, Cumbria, entered by the Lowther and Londsdale Estates


  • Small Woodlands Award

Sponsor: Wood-Mizer UK

1st prize: Alvecote Wood, Warwickshire
entered by Stephen Briggs and Sarah Walters

2nd prize: Broxton Wood, Stratford on Avon, Warwickshire
entered by Colonel George West


  • Community Woodlands

1st prize: The Woodlands, Clayton le Moors, Accrington
entered by Clayton Le Moors with Alham Propects Panel

2nd prize: Anderton and Marbury – Northwich Woodlands part of the Mersey Forest
entered by Friends of Anderton and Marbury


  • Urban Forestry Award

Sponsor: Forestry Commission England

1st prize: Northwood Forest Hills and Green Streets Project, Northwood, Knowsley, part of the Mersey Forest
entered by The Mersey Forest

Joint 2nd prize: Woodbank Park, Stockport
entered by Stockport Metropolitan Borough Council

Joint 2nd prize: Hollins Wood, Woodnook Vale Nature Reserve, Accrington
entered by Lancashire, Manchester and North Merseyside Wildlife Trust


  • Schools Award

Sponsors: PEFC and ECHL

1st prize: Millbrook Primary School, Stalybridge, Cheshire

2nd prize: Lutley Primary School, Halesowen, West Midlands


The RFS wishes to thank Manchester City Council and Ian Hopkinson for making the Tenants Hall available;  Ann Marie, for taking the Millbrook School children on the house tour; Ian Hopkinson for taking award winners around the house; and Joe Walsh for his informative tour of the garden and the Park itself.