Print page print this page

Excellence in Forestry 2020



 Rfs Excellence In Forestry For Web



In 2020/21 the RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards will be held across the Isle of Man, Northern Ireland and Wales.


Shortlisting has been completed in all five categories but due to public health advice around the Covid-19 outbreak, final judging and the awards presentation are delayed until spring/summer 2021.


There are five separate categories: 

Award for Excellence in Silviculture

 Silviculturegold2019 Sheremanor2 Wn 1007

Duke of Cornwall's Award for Resilient

Multi-purpose Forestry

Docsilver Bagley 10017 Wn

Small and Farm Woodland Award

Sfagold2 Lot3 Wn 1007

Community Woodland Award

Communitygold2019 Pondhead Wn0907

Education and Learning Award 

Edlearnigngold Littlebrids Wn 1007


For more information please email Dr Rachel Thomas, Excellence in Forestry Coordinator at  or call us on 01295 678588



With many thanks to our 2020 sponsors: 

Tilhill Forestry Logo Cmyk  1 Fsc Textonlybrandmark Tm Rgb Forestry Journal No Strapline
 Savills Logo Large  Trees Please Master Logo 2015  Pefc Logo White Os

 In 2019 the Excellence in Forestry Awards were held across London, Southern and South East England. Winners were announced at an awards event on Friday 12 July 2019 at the York Club, Windsor Great Park. Details of this year's and last year's winners are available here  

Over the years, the RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards have revealed some outstanding woods and  woodland management. To share Best Practice, case studies on some of the previous winners are available here.  


The RFS Excellence in Forestry Awards were launched in 2009 as the successor to two former national forestry competitions - the Woodlands and Plantations competition run in partnership with the Royal Agricultural Society of England, and the Duke of Cornwall's Award for Forestry and Conservation.

They rotate around England, Wales and Northern Ireland.


Presentation Table 2018