Print page print this page

RFS - Sylva Trophy


Rfs Side By Side Lr10

The Royal Forestry Society - Sylva Trophy


In 2011 a new challenge prize was introduced by the RFS, the Sylva Trophy, donated by Patrick Evelyn, a direct descendent of John Evelyn, author of the seminal 17th century ‘Sylva or a Discourse of Forest-trees and the propagation of Timber’. This trophy is presented annually to recognise a person or organisation who in the opinion of the RFS has made an outstanding contribution to forestry in its broadest sense.

Patrickevelynlefttojulianevans Sylvatrophy19 Os 140719

Patrick Evelyn, left, presents the 2019 Sylva Trophy to Professor Julian Evans for his outstanding contributions to forestry.

 Pic Credit: RFS/Brian Martin

The 2019 Award was presented by Patrick Evelyn to Professor julian evans at the Excellence in Forestry Awards event at the York Club in Windsor Great Park . More here.

2018: Jo Bradwell

2017: Peter Goodwin

2016: Ian Jack

2015: David Jenkins MBE