Print page print this page

RFS - Spencer Bursary

Are you a student member?

Would you like to receive up to £150 to pay for entry to an RFS event plus the cost of travel and food on the day?

The Spencer Bursary is made possible thanks to a generous bequest by the late John Anthony Spencer with the purpose of providing current students or recent graduates of forestry (and related courses) with the opportunity to attend RFS events.

In most years we offer up to 5 Spencer Bursaries to the value of £150 each. The bursary must be used to pay for entry into an approved RFS event, with the rest of the money used for travel and subsistence costs on the day of the event.


 Spencer Bursary 2021

RFS student members can apply for a £150 bursary towards the cost of attending any RFS in-person training event in 2021 as advertised on the RFS web site. Applications close 28 February 2021.



  • You must be an undergraduate or postgraduate student undertaking a forestry or forestry-related degree at a British university.You need to be a RFS student member at the time of your application.

How to apply

  • Fill in and return the application form and supporting documents to
  • All documents emailed to RFS should be saved/submitted in PDF format. 
  • In your application email, please explain why you are applying and what you hope to learn from the conference. (2-3 sentences maximum.) 
  • We will let everyone know if they have been awarded a bursary within a week of the deadline.
  • Each bursary is worth £150.00, to be collected as a cheque or BACS transfer on the day of the event.
  • Successful applicants should register for a place at the conference  after you have heard whether you have been successful (places will be reserved for bursary recipients). 


Congratulations to the Spencer Bursary recipients


 Spencer Bursary 2019

Emily Warner- Oxford University,  Alan Varker- Harper Adams, Liam O'Keefe- Harper Adams



Spencer Bursary 2018

Sarah Ellis – Bangor University, David Cracknell – Bangor University, Jemima Letts – Bangor University, Andrew Newton – National School of Forestry (UoC), Reinis Purvins – Imperial College London



 John Trimble - Bangor University, Ellinor Dobie - Bangor University, Tom Haynes - National School of Forestry, University of Cumbria


Details of earlier recipients are available on request from